Explorer: Mind, Body and Soul

Standard

Dare to Excel Challenge #3

8641080261_db30e0648d_o

I was taking in the world–
Madonna and the Boston Celtics, Moonlighting and Golden Girls,
Cherry Coke, New Coke and back to Classic, We are the World and Live Aid,
a teacher is chosen to go into space and the USSR gets a new leader,
AIDS.
A young boy is diagnosed, a blood test is finally developed, Rock Hudson dies.
Closer yet to me, my grandfather is killed by a drunk driver.
I wore homemade clothes and got chicken pox.

It all happened when I was 9.
And I watched it happen from inside my little world.

I was vulnerable and alert and resourceful.
Smart.
Curious.
But mostly I was AWARE, SOLITARY and SERIOUS.

It probably doesn’t sound much like childhood.
But it was mine.
I wasn’t playful, or even really that imaginative.
Mostly I just observed.

But I explored everything from the very safe world my family created for me.
I read books, and hiked mountains, and saw magic.
I explored.

8688238138_b23502a8f3_o8642180174_c0d4e7036c_o8641081597_d1150c9b42_o1927702_522938470209_4262_n

I prepared well to leave that cocoon.
To eventually be more intimate with people, and far less serious.

But sometimes I wonder if I overcorrected.
Or if, at the very least, I couldn’t learn something again from the wise little adult I was.

Leave a Reply

