My 19th Century Birthday Eve

Standard

Happy (Snow)Fall!

1319911626703

Snow! In not-yet-mid Autumn!
Heavy, wet snow. Trees down. Power Out.
But the roads were passable and so, I still got to visit with Jennifer.

Back to the in-laws. Power still out.
So, we go into Bridgewater for a cozy homestyle dinner.

Back to the house. No. power.
Candles and oil lamps are gathered.
Snow is brought in and melted to flush toilets.
Food is taken  out to the porch and snow–
after 12 hours, the refrigerator is barely cool.

I curled up on the couch, as close as I could to the oil lamp and read a book
to the sounds of Kevin and his mom fighting and laughing through a game of Monopoly Junior.

I spent the entire evening squinting my way through Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I loved it.
Cover to cover, I read right into my birthday! Without electricity.

Fearing the electric wouldn’t come back, Kevin began referring to it as my “19th Century birthday”.
And, in the pitch night, my birthday did come.

But today, we have water and electricity.
So to celebrate my birthday, I am going to begin by taking a loooong bath!

One thought on “My 19th Century Birthday Eve

Leave a Reply

