Power Post- Lesson #17 – Corresponding with Your Muse

Standard

My most faith-full muses:

Thanks.
for never leaving.
for always answering the call.
for filling me up.
for making the mundane exquisite.
for staying awake while I sleep.
for eternal patience.
for endless inspiration.
for finding a way out,
even when I lock all the doors.
for persistence.
for embraces of color.
for positivity
and expression.

And now, a few quotes:

I don’t work for anyone but the muse.
~Neil Young

Often the Muse will not respond to direct and logical requests. She must be lured in with the playful and gentle.
~Jill Badonsky

But I can only write what the muse allows me to write. I cannot choose, I can only do what I am given, and I feel pleased when I feel close to concrete poetry – still.
~Ian Hamilton Finlay

Each of the Arts whose office is to refine, purify, adorn, embellish and grace life is under the patronage of a Muse, no god being found worthy to preside over them.
~Eliza Farnham

O! for a muse of fire, that would ascend the brightest heaven of invention.
~William Shakespeare

The ancient Greek oral poets all had this anxiety about the deficiencies of their memories and always began poems by praying to the Muse to help them remember.
~David Antin

One reason I don’t suffer Writer’s Block is that I don’t wait on the muse, I summon it at need.
~Piers Anthony

When inspiration does not come, I go for a walk, go to the movie, talk to a friend, let go… The muse is bound to return again, especially if I turn my back!
~Judy Collins

A muse can be a mirror: a reflection of the artist’s desires, anxieties, dreams and needs.
~Vince Aletti

When we sit down each day and do our work… The Muse takes note of our dedication. She approves. We have earned favor in her sight… we become like a magnetized rod that attracts iron filings.
~Steven Pressfield

Use your mind to flourish within self-imposed restrictions. Find your own muse within your little world.
~Beaman Cole

The most potent muse of all is our own inner child.
~Stephen Nachmanovitch

Muses work all day long and then at night get together and dance.
~Edgar Degas

My muse is a tiny, fairy-like creature from Gnardgnanesh: a country that only exists if you wish it to. He`s about 4 inches tall, greenish, and resembles a little twig.
~Thomas Lennon

Never forget that the nurturing and preservation of your own muse is job one. Lose it and you may be losing a great deal.
~Robert Genn

True muses stay dreams forever unless artists connect them to exploratory work.
~Robert Genn

Spend time every day listening to what your muse is trying to tell you.
~St. Bartholomew

Materially make the life of the artist sufficiently miserable to be unattractive, and no one will take to art save those in whom the divine daemon is absolute.
~Clive Howard Bell

The more conflict, the more rage, the more anxiety there is, the more the inner necessity to create. We must also bear in mind that gifted individuals, those with a genius (incidentally, genius was the Latin word for daimon, the basis of the daimonic concept) for certain things, feel this inner necessity even more intensely, and in some respects experience and give voice not only to their own demons but the collective daimonic as well. So they are kind of like little oracles of Delphi, or canaries in a coal mine, sensing the dangers, the conflicts, the cultural shadow, and trying to give it some meaningful expression. ….Creativity, then, can in part be thought of as the capacity to express the daimonic constructively. This is what all great artists do.
~Stephen A. Diamond, “The Psychology of Creativity“

What I try to do is write. I may write for two weeks ‘the cat sat on the mat, that is that, not a rat.’ And it might be just the most boring and awful stuff. But I try. When I’m writing, I write. And then it’s as if the muse is convinced that I’m serious and says, ‘Okay. Okay. I’ll come.
~Maya Angelou

The key to all of this is your feelings. Feelings are at the threshold between the conscious and the unconscious worlds, and while playing with your creative ideas, the positive and negative intuitive feelings you are experiencing are important messages from your inner creative self. If you learn how to read these feelings, then playing with your creative ideas becomes a direct means of contact. Getting in touch with your feelings is getting in touch with your self. Getting in touch with your self through your feelings is the heart and soul of the creative process. And it is the key to unlocking the power of story within you. . . . The important thing is to engage your feelings because that puts you in touch with your inner creative self and the energy behind those images.
~James Bonnet, “Unlocking the Power of Story within You“

Let us now consider the Personal Daemon of Aristotle and others, of whom it has been truthfully written, though not published:—
This is the doom of the Makers—their Daemon lives in their pen.
If he be absent or sleeping, they are even as other men.
But if he be utterly present, and they swerve not from his behest,
The word that he gives shall continue, whether in earnest or jest.
~Rudyard Kipling, Something of Myself (1937)

I go to my studio every day, because one day I may go and the Angel will be there. What if I don’t go and the Angel came?
~Philip Guston

I don’t know exactly where ideas come from, but when I’m working well, ideas just appear. I’ve heard other people say similar things – so it’s one of the ways I know there’s help and guidance out there. It’s just a matter of our figuring out how to receive the ideas or information that are waiting to be heard.
~Jim Henson

Leave a Reply

