Power Post 13 – Credo

Standard

My assignment this day was to write my own creed.

Staying aware that my beliefs do change as I mature,
what is my creed right now?

Well, I have to say– the word “creed” kept me stumped for while.
Most people’s understanding of a creed is born of a religious understanding of creed.
I come from a tradition that is non-creedal.
So . . . . I have a little crimp in my own relationship with creeds.
Though historically we vaguely refer to entire New Testament as our rule of faith and practice,refusing to limit our faith to a formal statement.

Of course we found ways to make our beliefs known in similar ways, that just didn’t amount to a recitation of theological statements, en masse, or aloud during every worship.

All that said, I have beliefs.
About loooots of things.
And sometimes they change.
But I finally got comfortable making a statement–
knowing I could change it ANYtime,
without committees or approval from anyone.

So, I accept this as an on-going ever-changing draft of a credo.

I am Heidi.
Still a little girl at heart.
Born of a tiny immediate family,
but a mighty large extended one.

I am an only child.
I compulsively acquire siblings.
Desperately seeking sisters.
A magnet for brothers.

I prefer life

when everyone feels included,
and genuinely is.

when I,
and my friends,
have found their place in this world
and are comfortable in it.

I prefer to live

with a tribe.
to know their talents.
to see each member’s worth.

I prefer my earth mates

to see everyone as their neighbors.
to love those neighbors.
to love themselves.
to touch the sacred.

I see
beauty everywhere.
I try
to capture it
to share
for others to experience.
I think
maybe
teaching others to do this
for one another
is how the earth breathes.

Respect is non-negotiable.
Love is inevitable.
Joy is often fleeting.
Grief has merit.
Curiosity is a gift,
an antidote to ennui
and inertia.

Being vulnerable isn’t easy.
Attempt it anyway.
We are all braver than we know.

I am most broken
by my own fear
and by the pain
of seeing others’ fear
cause so much pain.

TRUST.
Let go.
Heal.

In this world,
even when it feels
most difficult,
I must speak.
sometimes loudly.
sometimes quickly.
I must claim that voice.
I must tell the truth.
I must tell stories.
So must you.

I can no longer
ever stand silent
in the presence of
hatred or abuse.

I seek to be
more present,
more conscientious,
more aware everyday,
and to challenge others
to do likewise.

I want the world to know
PEACE is not an unattainable ideal
it is an ordinary choice.
Make it yours everyday.

Personally,
I have to make things.
Actual things.
Paintings.
Costumes.
Music.
It makes life real.

Art helps us see our potential
and accept what is.

I value
what exposes,
illuminates,
and clarifies.

I stand strong.
And I will stand with you.
I am not ashamed.

A family of friends
can never be too large.

2 thoughts on “Power Post 13 – Credo

Leave a Reply

