The (Complete) Best of 2009 Blog Challenge

Standard

Gwen Bell inspired bloggers to reflect on their personal bests of 2009.

December 1 Trip.  

Florida in May.  Even with the monsoon. 

vac 178

December 2 Restaurant Moment.

Tout Va Bien, always. Probably the meal with Keith and Andrea.  We had a blast.!

ny70925

And Ohana at the Polynesian Resort, WDW. Even with the travel bug that hit us immediately after.

December 3 Article. .

Those Aren’t Fighting Words by Laura Munson

December 4 Book.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I had been wanting to read it and found multiple copies at a great price—convinced my book club ladies to read it with me.

December 5 Night out

Mexican food on this balcony and a walk around my favorite city, St. Augustine.

vac 180 . . .

December 6 Workshop or conference

WV Arts Assembly 

aa09 3

It was on the Business of the Arts . . . and mostly I learned that I have a community right here where I live.

December 7 Blog find of the year. 

I am loving Elsa Mora’s style blog, The Hidden Seed.

December 8 Moment of peace.  

nmb-44

Sunrise at North Myrtle Beach

 December 9 Challenge.

Having to continue to deal with a number of situations that I have no control over, but which remained unresolved through most of the year.  But goodness, was all of that minor when compared to all the great living. 

December 10 Album of the year.  What’s rocking your world?

I am giving this one to Ingrid Michaelson, as much for her live performance on the Everybody tour as for the new album.

michaelson 1

 

December 11 The best place. 

 21 fs 09

Ft. Sibert. Mountains! Summer!

December 12 New food. 

I finally love curry.

December 13 What’s the best change you made to the place you live?

see my previous post.

December 14 Rush. When did you get your best rush of the year?

At the Final Broadway Performance of the musical Spring Awakening.

 

The curtain call was a force unto itself.

Tom Hulce read these Sondheim lyrics sent by the choreographer Bill Jones from London for the occasion since he couldn’t be present:

‘With so little to be sure of,
If there’s anything at all.
If there’s anything at all,
I’m sure of here and now and us together.
Thanks for everything we did,
Everything that’s past,
Everything’s that’s over too fast.
None of it was wasted,
All of it will last:
Everything that’s here and now and us together.
It was marvelous to know you
And it isn’t really through.
Crazy business this, this life we live in-
Can’t complain about the time we’re given-
With so little to be sure of in this world,
We had a moment.
A marvelous moment.’

No dry eyes.

December 15 Best packaging.

I just love it when small companies and individual artists put effort and love into their packaging!

You can read blogger of bloggers, Heather Armstrong, gush about one of my faves here. 

December 16 Tea of the year.

 

Celestial Seasonings Green Tea with Antioxident Supplement—Not particularly exotic, but it got me HOOKED on green tea.

December 17 Word or phrase

"2009 was so full of ______________”

just plain goodness.

December 18 Shop.

I’ve been buying less. But I have to go with Amazon because I can never stop buying books! 

and ”Gabes” —good stuff for cheap!

December 19 Car ride.

So many! Rode with Rachel, Hannah and John to the beach.   

nmb-2

In May, the road to and from Florida was so much fun.  The ride to NYC with Andrea was an ADVENTURE.  Driving to NYC in August with Jim was fun. Anytime you sing “In the Heights” at the top of your voice, its a good time.

But I have a special place for my solitary ride home on the train after Thanksgiving. 

thanks 09 48

 December 20 New person.

Again, there are many.

Jim, Odette, Rachael, Roz . . .

fb7

potluck 23

picnic 6

December 21 Project. What did you start this year that you’re proud of?

I have finally, in earnest STARTED purging “things”. I’m far from done.  But in 2009 I started and have every intention of continuing until my connection to objects feels light and buoyant.

messy studio 2

December 22 Startup.

Once Google stopped further development on Google Notes, I decided I should find an alternative.  I knew there had to be one—and one better—or they wouldn’t have abandoned it.  What I found was Evernote.  I can easily clip articles and quotes like before.  Better yet, I know it has an untapped potential that I may someday discover.  In the meantime I use it faithfully to to store the gems I find on the web.

December 23 Web tool.

oooh this best list is getting so techy.  I stick by Evernote.

Though I am also pretty tied to StumbleUpon.

December 24 Learning experience. What was a lesson you learned this year that changed you?

I think I have finally stopped devoting myself to people who are not devoted to me.

December 25 Gift. What’s a gift you gave yourself this year that has kept on giving?

mb logo

December 26 Insight or aha! moment. What was your epiphany of the year?

December 27 Social web moment.

I journeyed east to meet up with some lovely women I met in the Mondo Beyondo ecourse.

mb bw 1mb bw 2mb bw 5

December 28 Stationery.

Oddly enough, my stationary find of the year was all the stationary I hoarded as a teenager. I used to love it so much I wouldn’t want to use it! Now I am enjoying the fruits of my neurosis!

December 29 Laugh. What was your biggest belly laugh of the year?

nyc 23

My favorite laugh probably wasn’t mine, it was Jim’s. We laughed alot. Especially on this random night in NYC. Of course, I likely had my deepest belly laugh when Jim chickened out diving backwards off the diving board!

December 30 Ad.

I have never loved Star Wars, but if anyone could convince me, it would be Disney. 

December 31 Resolution you wish you’d stuck with. (You know, there’s always next year…)

I have SO never made resolutions. 

2 thoughts on “The (Complete) Best of 2009 Blog Challenge

Leave a Reply

