Here come the Jets . . .

Standard

Since I am a habitual theatregoer, you would think I would take the time to honor the money I spend and the enjoyment I get from attending. That was partly this journals intent.
And yet. . .
I don’t post. I often am at a loss when it comes to verbalizing my reactions to shows or what they mean to me.
I’ve come closest in the not-so-matter-of-fact ways.
Here . . .
http://heidigardner.vox.com/library/post/please-god-let-it-rain.html
and here . . .
http://heidigardner.vox.com/library/post/mamas-gotta-let-go.html
It should be easy to at least do reviews. But I’m pretty lazy and scattered.
I lose ticket stubs in the bottom of overnight bags and slide on piles of old playbills as I get in and out of bed.

But, I am taking time out today to be grateful for the upcoming West Side Story revival.
I have no idea why I am so bloody excited, but I am.
And that only increased when I learned how easy it was going to be for me to see the show in DC at its pre-Broadway tryout. Read about it in Variety! http://www.variety.com/article/VR1117989050.html?categoryid=15&cs=1
I am giddy.
I think the show itself is masterful in its place in musical theatre history
and was so astounded by Arthur Laurents direction of the Gyspy revival.
I mean, me, enjoying the classics? what?!

Leave a Reply

