senses are intense

Standard

I have a really strong reaction to scent anyway.
As visual as I am, I was clearly a bloodhound in a previous life.

Anyway, I am running out of laundry.
I dug into a bag of clothes I got from mom to wear to bed.
Clothes that were gram’s.
And this shirt, when I closed my eyes, flooded my senses.

It blows my mind that after 7 months it still smells like her–
a combination of her and her powders and colognes,
covered in the scent of her regular detergent.

How is it possible that something invisible can remain so tangibly,
when her body has been so gone for so long?

2 thoughts on “senses are intense

Leave a Reply

