Is this what the internet used to feel like?

Standard

UGH dial-up.
To think I was fairly patient waiting for pages to load.
Now, I am spoiled and pretty cranky about it.

I don’t have much to say–
I’m just scared and lonely.
Still dealing with the crazy brain stuff.

I think I’m better now that I am occupying myself.
Though generally, I’m getting to a point that I have only reached once before,
where it’s bad enough that people who know about what is happening
don’t know what to say, don’t want to know, are afraid to ask, etc.
And I am starting to self identify as a “sick person”,
a set of symptoms instead of who I have always been.

Anyone with either a chronic physical or mental illness, or who
has experienced a serious health crisis totally knows this feeling.
It’s just this side of hideous.

Then there’s the mortality factor.
Damn human frailty.
Not that I haven’t come to terms with what living and dying means;
I just hate being reminded of the “unknown”,
that no clean bill of health or terminal diagnosis
really tells you anything. No one knows who goes when.

“Life is pleasant.
Death is peaceful.
It’s the transition
that’s troublesome.”
~Isaac Asimov

4 thoughts on “Is this what the internet used to feel like?

  1. I think dial-up was probably a lot faster in the past, because web sites contained much less digital information – not so many frilly animated banner and side ads that jumped out at you when your mouse pointer randomly came over them, no switching top news stories, no fancy “advanced” features. Also, even if it were slower than typical internet now despite the increaset data, when it was all we had, it didn’t seem as slow because we weren’t accustomed to things being so fast yet.

  2. I think dial-up was probably a lot faster in the past, because web sites contained much less digital information – not so many frilly animated banner and side ads that jumped out at you when your mouse pointer randomly came over them, no switching top news stories, no fancy “advanced” features. Also, even if it were slower than typical internet now despite the increaset data, when it was all we had, it didn’t seem as slow because we weren’t accustomed to things being so fast yet.

  3. It’s easy to be patient when people still adhere to basic principles of webdesign such as offering a text-only sitemap, not burdening the end user with images more than 20-30k each, etc.

    Now everyone thinks they’re working in fucking television…

  4. It’s easy to be patient when people still adhere to basic principles of webdesign such as offering a text-only sitemap, not burdening the end user with images more than 20-30k each, etc.

    Now everyone thinks they’re working in fucking television…

Leave a Reply

