Struggling with Hope

Standard

I have had an unhealthy relationship with the word “hope” lately.
It has always been one of my favorites,
but recently I used it in the context of an apology.
I feared that I was strangling someone with hope.
I know that to keep trying is, for me, an expression of hope.
I continue to long for wonderful things; I can’t help it.

But today we got a jump start on Advent–
which is definitely a season I am anxious to experience.
We had our first ministerial luncheon and we lit the first Advent candle.
HOPE.
ugh.
The devotion and message managed to pierce my heart despite
the layers of muscle overdeveloped by fear and pain.

“The world belongs to those who will have brought the greatest hope.” — Theilhard de Chardin

In Advent, Christians honor what it means to anticipate the incarnation.
In so many year since Jesus the man lived,
we are called to be Christ in the world.
That takes nothing less than endless hope.

I feel called to everything I do, every person I meet.
There is no such thing as wasted time.
On days when I am tempted to focus on what is missing,
I believe I can still be filled by what already exists.
And yet, I will always hope.
And fight the shame placed on what many perceive as blind idealism.

But in the soul’s winter, it often feels that we will stay barren.

6 thoughts on “Struggling with Hope

  1. “Hope?”

    “Never. Hope is one step above despair and to despair is to sin against God. Hope? no. I just get busy and do and trust.” a very old black woman from the south whose name i do not know. she was interviewed on some morning show a long time ago. I have never forgotten her words.

    in your taking care of others, do not forget to take good care of yourself.

  2. “Hope?”

    “Never. Hope is one step above despair and to despair is to sin against God. Hope? no. I just get busy and do and trust.” a very old black woman from the south whose name i do not know. she was interviewed on some morning show a long time ago. I have never forgotten her words.

    in your taking care of others, do not forget to take good care of yourself.

  3. I think you are an amazing person.
    In the midst of all my chaos and stress and thoughts of just giving it all up, I have not been able to keep track of emails and matters to do on the internet. My apologies.
    I wanted to let you know that you are MORE than welcome to come and stay with me for a long period of time in France. I mean that from my heart. Your emails were amazing and you gave me such hope. There are no words to say thank you for that. Sending you hugs xx

  4. I think you are an amazing person.
    In the midst of all my chaos and stress and thoughts of just giving it all up, I have not been able to keep track of emails and matters to do on the internet. My apologies.
    I wanted to let you know that you are MORE than welcome to come and stay with me for a long period of time in France. I mean that from my heart. Your emails were amazing and you gave me such hope. There are no words to say thank you for that. Sending you hugs xx

Leave a Reply

