Crazy long memes– but with photos added! ;)

Standard
1. Name someone with the same birthday as you?
Henry Winkler, that’s right, the Fonz-Grace Slick of Jefferson Airplane, Alfred Sisely, a french impressionist, ezra pound, the poet and and gavin rossdale

<lj-cut text=”image heavy!  This took forever, but was fun.”>

2. Where was your first kiss?
Where?  I don’t even know when?
I wish someone had told me these were landmarks to remember. I don’t remember when I got my period either.
Apparently neither event was particularly tragic or spectacular!
But it could have been either in a laundry room my first summer away from home or a friend’s basement during a party game.

3. Have you ever seriously vandalized someone else’s property?
No, but I live in West Virginia.
There’s nothing to do here, everyone goes through a road sign stealing phase. 🙂

4. Have you ever hit someone of the opposite sex?
In high school, one of my few romantic encounters ending with the guy punching me in the gut.
I bloodied his nose.
And in the second grade on the playground a kid was teasing me and I grabbed his finger and told him I’d twist until he apologized.
He didn’t. It snapped like a dry twig.
I am a pacifist, but apparently my survival instinct overrides my own ethics.

5. Have you ever sung in front of a large number of people?
Years of theatre, so a lot. The most people was probably singing in a production of Godspell for my denomination’s national gathering in a
HUGE convention center in Orlando.
I sang in a choir in Carnegie Hall, which was pretty neat.

6. What’s the first thing you notice about the preferred sex?
Voice. Enthusiasm/Energy.

7. What really turns you on?
Where is this meme heading? lol. I dig eye contact. Not specifically as a turn on, but it definitely can be!

8. What do you order at Starbucks?
hot cocoa and a slice of pound cake. yummm. Their pound cake is most awesome.

9. What is your biggest mistake?
That’s a laugh, I have plenty. Regrets I try to avoid, but mistakes happen. Giving attention to the wrong people are mistakes I have made that particularly make me wince.

10. Have you ever hurt yourself on purpose?
Not habitually, but I think I have.  I was the kid that bit themselves and threatened to hurl themselves down the stairs.  LOL.

11. Say something totally random about yourself.
This request has prompted me to do something I forgot and have been too lazy to go upstairs for all day—I am putting on deodorant. 🙂

12. Has anyone ever said you looked like a celebrity?
Yes, but it’s always someone on some soap opera that I don’t know. I have been told Emily Watson (she’s blonde so it must be the light eye, heart-shaped face, pixie-ish thing) and Tracy Ullman (which I think is just because we I have a play-doh face and am unabashed about most everything– and the long dark hair.)

13. Do you still watch kiddy movies or tv shows?
Yep– I even watched that cheesy American Girl TV movie last night.

14. Did you have braces?
Nope.  The evidence is here.  Creepy picture, brave no?  The shorter big tooth sits at a slight angle.  It used to overlap the tooth to its right, but I had to push it over for half an hour a day as it grew in.  So now it doesn’t overlap, but it twisted inward a bit.  And the tooth to the left of the other big tooth is definitely cockeyed.   You can also see the bottom teeth are crowded a little.
But I ain’t complaining.  Braces would have been painful and a a financial strain on my family.

15. Are you comfortable with your height?
I’m not uncomfortable, but I am short, so buying pants is always an extra pain.
I think if I have to be on an extreme end of the height spectrum, I’d rather be too short than too tall.

16. What is the most romantic thing someone has done for you?
We never really do “traditional” romance.  I mean, the year I was going to seminary K. bought me an exhaustive concordance for Valentine’s Day!!

A few Christmases later, I did receive my favorite piece of jewelry.

17. When do you know it’s love?
How can you not tell?  I guess I love often and big enough that it’s plenty plain.

18. Do you speak any other languages?
I can do Spanish in a pinch and well enough to teach non-native speakers (ie., needing to tell a parent to come pick up her child from school, teaching ESL, etc.)

19. Have you ever been to a tanning salon?
I have certainly been to one; my aunt owns one.  I’ve even worked there.  Middle of summer, white-as-a-ghost.  I got some strange looks from the patrons.
“Like, OMG, you can get FREE melanoma and skin like leather and you are passing it up!”
uh, yeah.  I did at least try it a couple of times.  I thought it would keep me from burning like a crisp on vacation if I got a base tan.
But I’d rather burn than lie in a *really*bright* coffin-like thang for 15 minutes.  And, no, simple standing the coffin-o-light up and calling it a “booth” doesn’t help.

20. What magazines do you read?
I have no shame when it comes to magazines– I can read ’em all.
That doesn’t mean I’ll pay for just any magazine.  I’ve never bought a tabloid–
those you read at the salon (see above.)  I read Utne at the library because I can’t afford any right now.
In the past I had a subscription to “Real Simple,” I like the pictures of everyday things and how “clean” it feels.

21. Have you ever ridden in a limo?
Yes, but who cares.

22. Has anyone you were really close to passed away?
My papa’s parents, a mentor, a few close friends in college and grad school.  Too many who were far too young, like my friend Johnny—
Seem with me here in a production photo for the previously mentioned production of Godspell.

23. Do you watch MTV?
I watch a ton of trashy tv, but not MTV.  Occasionally I will get sucked into an episode of The Real World, but I think Seattle was the last season I paid any kind of real attention to.

24. What’s something that really annoys you?
Stepping in kitty hairballs.

25. What’s something you really like?
Making Art.  Eating by candlelight.

26. Do you like Michael Jackson?
I used to.  I wore out a cassette copy of “Farewell My Summer Love.”

27. Can you dance?
Sure can.  I’d like to do more ballroom dancing, but there is nowhere to go around here.

28. What’s the latest you have ever stayed up?
As late as it gets before you begin calling it early again.

30. Have you ever been rushed by an ambulance into the emergency room?
After two car accidents, neither of which were incredibly serious injuries.
(And neither of the accidents were my fault, dammit.)

31. Do you actually read these when other people fill them out?
I like learning random things about people, and usually these surveys give a better view than normal posts.
People seem to respond well to prompts.

What are your car/truck radio buttons set to? Yes, all of them.
Stations that don’t exist in this state.  I haven’t changed them since I moved.
I tried to set one last week to 106.1, but couldn’t remeber how and I was driving so I didn’t bother trying too hard to figure it out.

When you’re completely burned out, what’s a good way to recharge (other than sleep)?
journal.  cut out pictures in magazines and collage. bubble baths.

Favorite place you’ve traveled?
London.

What do you want to try that you haven’t yet?
Radio broadcasting.

Five things you love to eat, and five things you hate to eat?

Love: fresh bread with real butter, m&m’s, barley soup, cheesesteak, a really fresh salad

Hate: Anchovies, cooked cauliflower ( love it raw, but the smell of it cooking . . . *wretch* to think people on the damn south beach diet are smushing it up and pretending it’s “mashed potatoes” *points finger* SHAME on you all,) tapioca, fried oysters (which I do NOT love raw. in fact, i find them so gross raw, i couldn’t even bear to put the picture of them here,) jello jigglers

Did you learn to drive stick or automatic first?
Automatic.  I still can’t drive a standard.

Do you like board games?
I do, but finding other people who do is the problem.  😦
I neeeed this (even though I already have the regular version, the electronic version, the millenium edition and the Oz one . . . )

Tell me your opinion about gambling. Like for money.
I am not in favor, generally.

How many dictionaries do you own?
I’m sure a couple of everyday ones, with a few special ones (Bible Dictionary, theatre dictionary, real estate dictionary etc.)

What’s your favorite medium to work in?
Oils, but alas ventilation in my place has been poor for so long.  Hopefully soon, now that I have the space.
And paper, colored papers, handmade paper, magazines . . . cut it up and glue it down.  very satisfying.
Markers.
Camera.

What was your undergraduate major, and was it always that or did you switch?
Art, Theatre and Communications minor.
Enrolled as English/Philosophy and Religion, switched to music, endured one day of abuse, moved to the Art Department.

Worst physical pain you’ve been in?
Migraine.  Nauseatingly bad.

Who’s your best friend? Best opposite-sex friend? Friend you’ve known the longest?
cousin  Sam is the longest.  🙂 Her baby-girl is often featured around here.
swissbuddha (spouse), heimdall (other gender), kimmee–all college friends
puckthefey, grad school era (early Indiana)
vitreous_fish, post grad era (late Indiana) lol.



. . . . and david w., and j., and my mom and dad and gram.  I guess I have lots of irreplaceable people in my life!

Was high school good? Why (not)?
It felt like torture at the time.  But now, I feel like I have some really good memories.  I found just the right friends at the time, you know, so we could all feel tortured together.  lol.

What kinds of music do you like best? Get specific, if you can.
I have a lot of musicals in my collection, but I just get hooked on one at a time. (i always come back to william finn and stephen sondheim)

I like some folksie stuff. (tracy grammar, damien rice/lisa hannigan, jack johnson, dan bern)

Girly stuff.  (Tori Amos, Alanis Morissette, Jonatha Brooke, Ani Difranco)
Ambient Shite (Gabrielle Roth, Mediaeval Babes, Vida)

Jazzy Cabaret stuff (Jacques Brel, Paris Combo, Nellie McKay)

World Music (frigg, vasen, solas,, le vent du nord, john doyle)

The Smiths, NIN, Coldplay, Rilo Kiley, Levellers, Paul McCartney, Beck, Led Zeppelin, Stone Roses, U2, Jeff Buckley, Muse

Last three CDs you bought:
It’s been awhile.  The Paris Combo Live album, Van Lear Rose/Loretta Lynn, Guero/Beck

Five favorite movies:
OOhh.  Too hard.  For Comedy–All of Christopher Guest’s movies.  (This is Spinal Tap, Waiting for Guffman, Best in Show, A Mighty Wind . . .)

Can I throw in “Little Shop of Horrors” in that group since he has a tiny part in it?
lol.  So that’s one.  hahah
Okay, I am lumping Baz Luhrmann together– The Red Curtain Trilogy (Strictly Ballroom, Romeo+Juliet, Moulin Rouge)

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy

I’m so totally cheating.  I give up.  Here’s a few more:

The Wizard of Oz, Babette’s Feast, Help

Garden State, Stage Beauty, Chicago, Jesus of Montreal, Big Fish,

Spanglish, Chocolat,

Big Night (Can you tell I like food movies?), Pirates of the Carribean,

Amelie, Psycho Beach Party,

The Spitfire Grill, Little Voice, Kill Bill: Vol 2
okay.  must stop now.

What’s something other people like that you just can’t get into?

Lost.

I don’t get it.  I want to.  I just didn’t get sucked in.  At all.
coffee and cigarettes. 
Not the movie, the vices.  Why?  They both give you the kind of bad breath you can’t brush away.

When you want to look good, what do you wear?
A well-cut collared shirt, boot cut black pants, shoes with a very pointy toe and dangly earrings.

When your heart breaks, how do you put it back together?
I write, I read about others lives to escape my own and I make pictures.

Should the following be exterminated:

white briefs:
I don’t see why.  I don’t plan on seeing most people’s undergarments, so I don’t really care.
blue eyeshadow: No, it’s a perfectly good warning.  What the gene pool doesn’t reveal, the choice of blue eyeshadow will.
pants that create the muffin-top look on women: It’s clearly not the pants or the fat that needs to go— It’s the poor taste in choosing clothes that don’t fit.  But YES, that must be exterminated!
flip flops in the office: Seems kinda trashy, but I don’t really feel dress codes are necessary.  Either the person should be there regardless, cause they’re just that damn good, or they shouldn’t be and therefore this becomes a similar issue to that of blue eyeshadow.
flip flops anywhere: I don’t care, really. But I figure if you are going that far, go barefoot (unless it’s for reasons like a skanky group shower.)  I mean why get a cramp in your toe just to hold a piece of rubber to the bottom of your foot?

Were you a Boy/Girl Scout?
I quit after Brownies.  Those older girls took things waaaay too seriously.”Mommy, I wanna be Obsessive -Compulsive when I grow up!”

Can you swim?
Yes, but not very well.  I can’t blow water out my nose, so it’s a hindrace to the whole swimming thing.

Tell me your guilty pleasures:

song: Borderline/ Madonna
book: more like fashion magazines, but I did read Donny Osmond’s autobiography– and liked it.  lol.
movie: Legally Blonde
food: Little Debbie Oatmeal Cream Pies
other: Court TV

Do you have a library card?
Of course.  My mama’s a librarian!

What’s the best present you’ve received in the past five years?

My in-laws just bought us a new fridge, but it doesn’t get here until Friday.
I can’t wait!!! (we’ve been having to use a micro fridge since we moved.)

Do you have a favorite:
Painter:
Andrew Wyeth (for his detail,) Waterhouse (and other Pre-Raphaelites,) Richard Diebenkorn

Sculptor: Bernini

Photographer: Annie Leibovitz, Peggy Sirota

Writer (fiction):
Ayn Rand, Gregory Maguire, Harold Pinter, Lanford Wilson, Toni Morrison

Writer (science fiction/fantasy): Orson Scott Card, Marion Zimmer Bradley

Poet: William Stafford, Julia Kasdorf, May Sarton, Rilke, Rumi
Writer (nonfiction): Susan Sontag, Thomas Merton, Anne Lamott, Patricia Cornwell

You’re in a strange city for the weekend. What will you do while you’re there?
Pick a site and sketch.  Take myself out for a fancy lunch.

Are you thrifty?
by nature, yes.

You bought tickets for a cultural event. What are you going to see?
A musical, or an author/artist speak

What’s something you’re hanging onto that you don’t need anymore?
Old computers, software, manuals, cables . . . JUNK!

6 thoughts on “Crazy long memes– but with photos added! ;)

  1. so, if you’re still even vaguely doing any biblical studies these day, i suggest you pair that strongs with a thompson study bible. it has side columns that link every phrase and usually every word to a strongs index. pretty handy.

    also, we’ve known each other how long and you never mentioned you like ayn rand 🙂

    thirdly, what’s wrong with jello jigglers? they’re hilarious. especially after a few rounds of jello shots 🙂

Leave a Reply

