another entry from the northside . . .

Standard

it ‘s all so very suburban here .

but i am surprisingly comfortable being stranded
in the retirement abode of a friend’s parent ‘s .
odd, isn ‘t it ?

i am S U C H a gypsy.
I end up comfortable almost everywhere.

thanks for all the tips on the ” big easy . ”
i am realizing that since i’ll have nowhere to check my bags at the
hour I’ll be there that I may see nothing but the inside of the station .
i ‘ll have to wing it .

i would love to say more , but i hardly know where to begin .
all my energy is being spent attempting not to get too maudlin
about resuming my journey to the northeast —
leaving things and people and experiences I have loved to
move toward other things and people and experiences I love .

( insert dramatic sigh )

4 thoughts on “another entry from the northside . . .

  1. you a gypsy??

    no, get out… really?

    šŸ˜›

    “i am S U C H a gypsy.
    I end up comfortable almost everywhere”

    these two lines describe you well – honestly, i would describe you like that myself.. šŸ™‚

    btw, i have you reading a passage during the ceremony next saturday, we can go over it friday of course at the 3:30 rehersal at the catherdral…. call me this week about details if you need….

  2. You know, you’re more than welcome to hang out at my place, if you want to. I don’t want to push you into a visit or anything just because sometimes it’s more fun to have these little adventures on one’s own. I told Justin an LJ friend would be in town and he volunteered to come pick you up without my suggesting it, so it would definitely not be imposing on us or anything. We’re up all night anyway. If you’d rather run around somewhere on a mini-adventure, you might be able to put your bags in a locker.

    When I first visited here I took a Greyhound bus down from Chicago on my own with just a map and a backpack with a change of clothes and ran around like a maniac for a weekend, crashing at a hostel Uptown. It probably wasn’t the safest thing to do, since I didn’t know anyone or where to go and was drinking a bit, but it was a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

