Thoughts

That golden color of 2013

I am beginning now to really reflect on the year’s turning–
that color I referenced still a filter for meaning.
I collected representative images on a Pinterest board.
The color, as it turns out, was lamplight and honey.
How can next year ever compare?

Then one of my favorite poems came back to me today,
full of the colors of honey and heat
and also overflowing with connection
to the words I have walked with this year.
Purge. Savor. Manifest.

Last Night As I Was Sleeping
Antonio Machado
English version by Ivan M. Granger

      Last night, as I was sleeping,
I dreamt – blessed vision! –
that a fountain flowed
here in my heart.
I said: Why, O water, have you come
along this secret waterway,
spring of new life,
which I have never tasted?
      Last night, as I was sleeping,
I dreamt – blessed vision! –
that I had a beehive
here in my heart;
and the golden bees
were making
from all my old sorrows
white wax and sweet honey.
      Last night, as I was sleeping,
I dreamt – blessed vision! –
a blazing sun shone
here in my heart.
It was blazing because it gave heat
from a red home,
and it was sun because it gave light
and because it made me weep.
      Last night, as I was sleeping,
I dreamt – blessed vision! –
that it was God I had
here in my heart.

Standard

2 thoughts on “That golden color of 2013

    • heidi says:

      I am pretty sure we are set on the blessing front given that we will most likely get to see each other right off in the new year!

Leave a Reply

